2021 Harvey Awards Hall of Fame Inductees Announced


The Harvey Awards arrive as part of this weekend’s New York Comic Con festivities. Ahead of the official ceremony, the awards committee announced this year’s inductees for the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame. This year’s five inductees include legendary horror artist Bernie wrightson, fantastic illustrator Guillaume Kaluta, cartoonist Barry windsor smith, mangaka Rumiko takahashi, and cover artist and painter Jeffrey Catherine Jones.

In a statement announcing the inductees, Takahashi, the mangaka behind shows like Inuyasha and Urusei Yatsura, and Liz wrightson, widow of Bernie Wrightson, both expressed their gratitude for being named to the Hall of Fame:

Rumiko Takahashi, inductee in 2021, said: “Thank you very much for this wonderful award. I am so honored that American readers have appreciated my work. Thanks to the manga, I am so happy to be able to communicate with all of you. The world is in trouble because of Covid, but I hope my manga can provide some comfort. “

“I am delighted to see Bernie’s comics and illustration accomplishments honored by the Harvey Awards committee. His legacy continues to shine and his memory lives on in our hearts, ”said Liz Wrightson, wife of inductee Bernie Wrightson.

Rumiko Takahashi becomes the second manga artist to be inducted into the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame, following the induction last year of Osamu Tezuka. The induction of Jeffrey Catherine Jones is also notable, as she is the first transgender designer to be nominated for the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame.

The Harvey Hall of Fame was established in 2017 to “[Honor] creators who have had distinguished careers or an impact in the medium for more than two decades. Harvey Hall of Fame inductees are chosen by the Harvey Awards Executive Committee, made up of Nellie kurtzman, John lind, and Mosher chip. Previous Hall of Fame inductees include Darwyn Cooke, Alison Bechdel, Dave Gibbons, and the founders of Milestone Media. The Harvey Hall of Fame induction is one of three special awards presented at Friday’s ceremony, along with the Comics Industry Pioneer Award and the International Spotlight Award; the winners of these awards have yet to be announced.

Congratulations to this year’s well-deserved Hall of Fame inductees.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.