Acclaimed illustrator to visit DCDL

Hope you were able to safely weather our winter storm this week at home, and maybe you were lucky enough to cuddle up with a book or two.

This week, we’re kicking off the start of our 2022 Author Series with a visit from acclaimed illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Mr. Christie is one of the artists featured in the “Telling a People’s Story” exhibit currently on display at the Orange Branch of the Delaware County Library.

He is an award-winning children’s book illustrator and speaker with a long history of creating inspirational art. His illustrations “Freedom in Congo Square” were awarded in 2017 with a Coretta Scott King Honor for Illustration and the book received a Caldecott Honor.

We are delighted to welcome Mr. Christie for a visit to the Orange branch library this Friday February 11 and Saturday February 12, to lead several family events! On Friday, Mr. Christie will host a special after-hours painting night for teens and adults.

This event is currently sold out, but there is still space on the waiting list.

Saturday morning, we are delighted to have Mr. Christie at the ‘Telling a People’s Story’ exhibit, telling stories and giving tours of the art panels. Expect to learn more about the artists and artistic styles that have contributed to the history of art in illustrated African-American children’s literature over the past 50 years. Stop by anytime between 10:30 a.m. and 12 p.m. for the exhibition walk.

There are still a few places available for a very special family activity on Saturday afternoon from 2 to 4 p.m. During this time, Mr. Christie will guide families in creating a children’s book, while teaching some art and bookbinding skills. Families or groups can work together to create a book. Reserve your spot at www.delawarelibrary.org/event.

Gregory Christie’s visit is accompanied by the exhibition “Telling A People’s Story”, organized by the Miami University Art Museum thanks to a grant from the Martha Holden Jennings Foundation. The exhibit is presented through a partnership with the Friends of the Delaware County District Library, the Delaware African American Heritage Council, the Richard M. Ross Museum, and the County Cultural Arts Center of Delaware. ‘Arts Castle Delaware.

In case you read everything on your reading shelf last week, here are some of the latest LibraryReads titles for February 2022. These books are among the top ten published this month that library staff across the United States gives a lot of love. Reviews are written by librarians across the country.

• “The Christie Affair: a novel” by Nina de Gramont. “An intriguing take on Agatha Christie’s famous disappearance in 11 days. In a Christie-style subplot, Nan manipulates Agatha’s husband into leaving her so Nan can intervene, but her plans go deeper. Interspersed throughout the story is Nan’s account of her own tragic past, and as it unfolds her true purpose is revealed.For fans of The Mrs. Christie Mystery and The Golden Book.— Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ

• “Black Cake: A Novel” by Charmaine Wilkerson. “In this extraordinary debut album, two estranged siblings must reunite at the death of their mother, opening old wounds and revealing long-held secrets. The novel is a rich, woven tapestry of cultures, characters, lore, and social issues, with several “wow” moments along the way. For fans of The Vanishing Half and Ask Again, yes. — Ronni Krasnow, New York Public Library, New York, NY

• “Not the witch you married” by April Asher. “Violet is perfectly happy to be the triplet without magical powers. However, since reuniting with high school wolf heartbreaker and shapeshifter Lincoln Thorne, she suddenly has magic and is afraid of being forced into an arranged marriage. What else can a witch do but pretend to date a werewolf? A fun, light read for fans of The Ex Hex. — Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, Virginia

• “The Violin Conspiracy” by Brendan Slocumb. “The only bright spot in Ray’s difficult life is his love of the violin which once belonged to his great-ancestor, a slave. The instrument turns out to be a Stradivarius, creating all sorts of problems. This top-notch story offers an in-depth look at the experience of being a black musician in the world of classical music. Great for book clubs who enjoyed Harlem Shuffle and The Queen’s Gambit.” — Joan Hipp, Florham Park Public Library, Florham Park, NJ

If you have a question you’d like to see answered in this column, mail it to Nicole Fowles, Delaware County District Library, 84 E. Winter St., Delaware, OH 43015, or call us at 740-362 -3861. You can also email your questions by visiting the library’s website at www.delawarelibrary.org or directly to Nicole at [email protected] No matter how you contact us, we’re always happy to hear from you!

Comments are closed.