Hawai’i Contemporary announces artists and locations for the 2022 Triennale


The Hawai’i Contemporary has unveiled the names of forty-three local and international artists and collectives who are expected to participate in the 2020 edition of the triennial (HT22). Entitled “Pacific Century – E Ho’omau no Moananuiākea”, the event will take place from February 8 to May 8, 2022, at seven sites on the island of Oahu, and will focus on climate change, history, l social activism and indigenous peoples. knowledge of Hawaii’s position at the crossroads of Asia and Oceania.

H22 is organized by curatorial director Melissa Chiu (director of the Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden, Washington, DC) with associate curators Miwako Tezuka (associate director of the Reversible Destiny Foundation in New York) and Drew Kahu’āina Broderick (director by Koa Galerie at Kapiolani Community College in Honolulu).

“In a time of great change, the intention of the Hawaii Triennale is to offer a reflection on recent stories across Asia-Pacific and to focus on lighting artists and artists. works that examine the intricacies of our present, ”Chiu said. It has been a privilege to work alongside my Conservative colleagues. . . as we carefully considered the triennial’s internationally-oriented themes alongside indigenous knowledge and local histories that impact contemporary art.

This is the first triennial outing of the event. Hawai’i Contemporary’s predecessor was launched in 2017 as the Honolulu Biennale: a structural change and rebranding took place amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

“Our mission is to connect our island communities to the arts through programming, education and spark key cultural conversations in Hawai’i and around the world,” said Hawai’i Contemporary Executive Director Katherine Don .

Participating sites, all in Honolulu, are the Bishop Museum, Foster Botanical Garden, Hawaii Theater Center, Hawaii State Art Museum, Iolani Palace, Honolulu Museum of Art, and Royal Hawaiian Center. You will find below the complete list of participating artists and collectives.

‘Ai Pōhaku Press (Maile Meyer and Barbara Pope)
Ai Weiwei
Richard bell
Herman Pi’ikea Clark
Eat in public
‘Elepaio Press (Richard Hamasaki and Mark Hamasaki)
Chitra Ganesh
Theater doors
Ed Greevy and Haunani-Kay Trask
Masanori Handa
Tsuyoshi Hisakado
Ai Iwane
Michel joo
Karrabing Film Collective
Izumi Kato
Yuree Kensaku
Sang Hwan Kim
Liu Xiaodong
Dan Taulapapa McMullin
Miao Ying
Beatriz Santiago Muñoz
Nā Maka o ka ‘Ä€ina (Joan Lander and Puhipau)
Leeroy New
Shinro ohtake
Jamaica Heolimeleikalani Osorio and Jonathan Kamakawiwo’ole Osorio
Pacific SistersPiliāmo’o (Mark Hamasaki and Kapulani Landgraf)
Rands Ahilapalapa
Laurent Seward
Athena Robles and Anna Stein (Double A Projects)
Jennifer steinkamp
Sun XunMika Tajima
Momoyo Torimitsu
TOQA (Isabel Sicat and Aiala)
Tropics editions
Gaku Tsutaja
Ming Wong
Xu Bing
Chikako Yamashiro
Justine Youssef
Zheng bo


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.