Stumptown Solo Artist Brian Eaton Announces Thoughtful New Album, All The Earth Will Mourn, Out August 26

Portland, OR, June 08, 2022 — ( — Musician/songwriter/producer Brian Eaton will release his pensive new album, All The Earth Will Mourn, on Friday, August 26 on digital platforms through his label, Eatin’ Records. Eaton’s fourth album continues to explore new territory within jazz fusion on five tracks of original instrumental compositions: from epic orchestral arrangements to intimate ambient guitars. Fans can pre-order on iTunes and Bandcamp (in high resolution) and pre-register on Spotify to stream/download upon release at:

The majority of the album is influenced by the fusion and progressive rock music that Eaton embraced as a young musician, including Bruford, Jean-Luc Ponty, Rush and the band Pat Metheny. His vision of music seeks to reflect and express passages of scripture with broad ground that crosses the boundaries between jazz, symphonic and jazz-rock while balancing simplicity and sophistication. Eaton traverses this territory by interweaving textures of cinematic orchestral arrangements with electronic music, blending Caribbean and Latin jazz, and juxtaposing Americana with progressive rock and ambient soundscapes.

Eaton comments, “This is where I’m supposed to talk about the process or the inspiration behind the creation of the album. Blah, blah, blah… does anyone really care about these excerpts or read them? If I was a writer, I would write a compelling narrative on the album, but I’m not, I’m a musician. I prefer to spare the reader and let the music do the talking. This is how musicians express themselves.

All The Earth Will Mourn builds on Eaton’s 2021 release The Known Space Project, which WWOZ (which streamed all nine tracks from the album) called “a fun album.” Bass Musician Magazine declared it, “an eclectic expanse of ethereal atmospheres and magnetic, lyrical melody fields orbiting a core of contemporary jazz and progressive idioms”. As All Jazz Radio raved, “Brian Eaton’s The Known Space Project is a great album to wake up to…Sparse and evocative, it stands out in today’s instrumental music bouquet.”

Once again, Eaton performed all instruments while producing and engineering the new album. Portland-based artist Allegra Drums has been hailed as a “studio wizard” and has been producing music and other artists since the early 90s. He is also the playlist editor at All About Jazz.

The All The Earth Will Mourn track list is as follows:

1. The whole earth will cry
2. The sound of many waters
3. Stand in the middle
4. Dressed in the Sun, Moon and Stars
5. No lamp or sunlight

For more information visit

Comments are closed.