USDA designates Rawlins County, Kansas as primary natural disaster area


WASHINGTON – Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated Rawlins County, Kansas as the main natural disaster area. Growers who have suffered losses caused by the recent drought may be eligible for emergency loans from the US Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency.

This natural disaster designation allows the FSA to provide much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet a variety of recovery needs, including replacing essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganizing a farm, or refinancing certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties below can also apply for emergency loans:

Kansas: Cheyenne, Decatur, Sherman and Thomas

Nebraska: Dundy, Hitchcock and Red Willow

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 15, 2021.

FSA will review loans based on the extent of losses, available collateral, and repayment capacity.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Aid Program for Livestock, Bees and Farmed Fish; Emergency conservation program; Cattle Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Compensation Program; Farm operating and property loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers can contact their local USDA service center for more information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.